Indigenize!

Rekindle Your Wild Joy and sense of deep Belonging through spiritual ecopsychology and the arts, incl. bioregional awareness, animistic perspectives, strategies for simple living, & low/no-tech DIY fun.

Painted Drum Commission May 18, 2011

Filed under: Arts,Shamanic Arts — BrujaHa @ 12:34 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This drum was commissioned by a woman who does shamanic healing work.  She chose the images and colors, a 3/4-facing white bird surrounded by four crystals of turquoise with some light purple. The slideshow depicts the last two stages of its creation.

It has a beautiful sound. During its birthing, I watched this drum wake up twice:  first as I tied it, and again when I painted the light in the bird’s eye.

See more of my handcrafted shamanic drums

 

8 Responses to “Painted Drum Commission”

  1. Rene Averett (facebook link) Says:

    Beautiful, Tina…

  2. Julie James (facebook link) Says:

    I love the attention and love you bring to your drum-making. What a journey each one represents.

    • Tina Fields Says:

      Thank you! The making is so powerful when I know who it’s for ahead of time & can make it just for them, focusing on that person the whole time. Feels like a weaving of soul-stuff, deer and pine and human. At any rate, it’s a magical tool then for sure.

  3. George Leverett (facebook link) Says:

    Terrific!

  4. Lisa Mertz Says:

    Beautiful, it’s so multi-dimensional (for lack of a better descriptor). Seems like it has a lightening bolt in it and the bird’s got a cosmic sense of humor.

  5. mike Says:

    Hi my name is Mike . I am working on painting my drum in the USA. I do not know any Sami people in USA. All I know is what my GreatGranddad taught me about our way of life. The painting and drum u have it very nice.

    • Tina Fields Says:

      Hello Mike – I’m honored that you like my drum here; thank you. You are Sami, then? I am friends with one Sami person, also a shamanic practitioner, but he lives in Norway. Will you paint your drum in the traditional way of your people, with symbols invoking your spirit journeys?

  6. […] Painted Drum Commission […]


What do you think?

