Indigenize!

Rekindle Your Wild Joy and sense of deep Belonging through spiritual ecopsychology and the arts, incl. bioregional awareness, animistic perspectives, strategies for simple living, & low/no-tech DIY fun.

Hello Again, Bornean Rainbow Toad! July 16, 2011

This bejeweled toad, feared extinct since 1924, appears to us once more!

According to Discovery News, the endangered spindly-legged Sambas Stream Toad, a.k.a. Bornean Rainbow Toad (Ansonia latidisca) was last seen 87 years ago in 1924.

“Prior to this recent sighting, only illustrations of the mysterious, long-legged toad existed, after collection by European explorers in the 1920s.  Because of this, scientists believed that chances of finding the species alive were nearly impossible and it was listed as one of the “World’s Top 10 Most Wanted Lost Frogs.”

The toad was found in the remote Gunung Penrissen mountains of Western Sarawak, which form a natural boundary between Malaysia’s Sarawak State and Indonesia’s Kalimantan Barat Province on the island of Borneo. The value of such wild corridors should not be underestimated. If not for the place, this toad (and who knows how many other species?) would likely never have been seen again. And amphibians are critically important to healthy ecosystems.

Dr. Indraneil Das of Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, touched to find this toad once more, reminds us, “Thrilling discoveries like this beautiful toad… remind us that nature still holds precious secrets that we are still uncovering.” Then, lest listeners discount the find as trivial, this scientist, no doubt thinking about the incredibly enmeshed interdependency of this planet’s natural systems, added: “Their benefits to people should not be underestimated.”

(Thanks to Jamie K. Reaser for bringing this to my attention.)

 

16 Responses to “Hello Again, Bornean Rainbow Toad!”

  1. Tim Says:

    She’s just shy that’s all.

  2. Wilton Aaronson Says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  3. bucino ulje Says:

    Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  4. Steven E. Says:

    thanks for the broken heart

  5. alternative medicine Says:

    This is a smart blog. I mean it. You have so much knowledge about this issue, and so much passion. You also know how to make people rally behind it, obviously from the responses. Youve got a design here thats not too flashy, but makes a statement as big as what youre saying. Great job, indeed.

  6. Jeffry Legge Says:

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone an extremely splendid opportunity to discover important secrets from this blog. It is usually very amazing and packed with a great time for me personally and my office peers to visit your blog really thrice in a week to see the new issues you will have.

  7. Oswaldo Lewandoski Says:

    great points altogether, you simply gained a brand new reader. What would you suggest about your post that you made a few days ago? Any positive?

  8. Tonie Says:

    Awesome read. I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. He just bought me lunch because I found it for him! Thus let me rephrase: Thank you for lunch!

  9. i like reading Says:

    Nice Work…

    I’m glad that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this.

  10. Deetta Says:

    I can see that you are are genuinely passionate about this!

  11. Ruby Howson Says:

    Excellent blog here!

  12. Gonser Says:

    The goodness of your posts has refueled my dormant soul.

  13. Refugio Says:

    I have never ever imagined that studying can be so exciting.

  14. Ginger Grauer Says:

    I’m thankful for this work and sincerely hope you recognize what a great job your are providing educating others through the use of your site.

  15. Moo Says:

    I believe more writers ought to take care to write with passion like you. Even informational articles like this can have personality. That’s what you have interjected in this informative write-up. Your views are extremely distinctive.

  16. Hey Tina,
    “Then, lest listeners discount the find as trivial, this scientist, no doubt thinking about the incredibly enmeshed interdependency of this planet’s natural systems”. Not a Mondegreen, but why do you suppose the “listeners” reach what some may call altered conclusions?

    Maybe it’s not homophony, but there is certainly misinterpretation? Maybe it’s “cause” fatigue or “didn’t I give money to save Wolves last week; Only to find those rescued and now thriving are being shot again?”. Truly, this has happened to myself and rendered me completely divorced from it all. Yes, I shouldn’t be emotive about these things. After all, we can’t even decide how many extinctions have occurred or if we had anything to do with it. (I’m all scrappy tonight). Not to mention the deluded within Faith based Organizations asking for assistance with spreading a codependent, psychologically obstructive message that undermines Individual Liberty and personal evolution. It’s “Cause” fatigue for sure. (yes, I will go to bed without my snack and remind myself that mindfulness is not a cause; It’s a state of being that must be nourished). Y’know, not for nothing, I was telling Shehy that on our walk just last night. He may be a dog, but he does listen (ha ha). What was Transformative in that conversation was the idea that things shouldn’t feel like a chore. Yet, the resonance and pain make everything a chore and dismally without affect. It just isn’t my nature to be so miserable.

    Y’know, Ice is melting in Greenland, deep water convection has changed, Farms in Northern California have no water and by the way there is “no climate change”. Mondegreen? Selective homophony? and I need to apply constructive, solution based thought processes to my disconcerted feelings. —–I’m trying.

    Although, Mondegreen does exist. When I was a kid, I constantly phonetically rearranged what I thought I was hearing while gleefully bursting into song; It didn’t help my relationship with my older brother, he had a knack for pointing it out by farting on my head. Bawahahaha Total SCHMUCK, but he’s my brother.

    Thanks,
    Gavin

    I guess I could add something suggestive here regarding homophony, as I am Gay. But, I’ll just preoccupy myself with figuring a way to justify my snack secondary to my acknowledged state of mindfulness. Positive reinforcement and subconscious anchoring! The snack is mine! Ha ha..

    Goonie forever! (I wonder if that is ok at 51)


What do you think?

