Indigenize!

Rekindle Your Wild Joy and Deep Belonging to the Earth

Interspecies Hug January 13, 2010

Filed under: All My Relations,Spiritual Ecopsychology — BrujaHa @ 2:07 am
Tags: , ,

We seem to have these ideas that each animal species is an island that only seeks the company of its own kind, and that each has one defining characteristic that will accurately predict its behavior.

Large predators such as lions and bears, for example, are usually portrayed as hungry and dangerous.

Nature shows love to focus on this aspect, of course, because chasing and devouring makes a much sexier show than loafing around, which is what large animals spend a lot of their time actually doing.

While their ferocious aspect does indeed need to be attended to when meeting large predators on their own turf, I love coming upon exceptions to such obviously limited generalizations.

Polar Bear Meets Dogs: I Come in Peace

Norbert Rosing captured these striking images of a wild polar bear coming upon tethered sled dogs in Canada’s Hudson Bay.

The photographer was sure that he was going to see the end of his dogs when the polar bear wandered in.

But instead this polar bear came in peace.

It seems that s/he only needed to hug someone!


It’s been rough out on the ice these past few years.  Gotta make friends where you can find them.
The polar bear returned every night that week to play with the dogs.


You reading this: May you, too, enjoy the sweetness of a life with friends of many species.





_

 

6 Responses to “Interspecies Hug”

  1. Priscilla Says:

    Tina, I didn’t know you had a blog! You showed up in my “animism” Google alert, and here you are! I’ve added you to my blogroll. May all our relations sweeten your life too.

  2. Max Says:

    Tina,

    This is lovely and heartwarming. Thanks.

    Max

  3. Spider Says:

    That’s just the most beautiful thing :0)

  4. Truly amazing and beautiful. Have you ever had a friend you loved and laughed with, yet everything seemed like an argument? Y’know, you Love them, then cringe when you see them? It’s not a reaction born of anger or any kind of unresolved angst, just an “Oh no, here we go again” moment. Something at one time adored and now repellant in a way not easily explained, beyond knowing. You can interact in brief, then go tai-chi master when the disagreement begins. I’m not good at Semantics or passive aggression, more than likely it is the result of the beatings and other assaults I have taken. I misinterpret the body language or my interpretation is correct, yet overstated subconsciously. In either case I avoid situations that I perceive will create those feelings, in many ways it is daunting.

    Thank you,
    Gavin

  5. PS Besides, I have Shehy the Wolfhound, he is remarkable and so Zen like. Intimidating to the unknowing and the biggest cry baby you ever met. So far 140lbs of boo hoo. Of course he is a little over 2 years now and from what I’ve read, this is normal. 2 more years before maturity and neutering at 3 yrs old. Just like that bear, as sweet as can be unless intimidated. Then he is more like an old Mule with a new Tree to circumvent. When it happens it’s a spectacle, first studying “it”, then collecting the chemical signatures with the endless sniffing of “it” and finally the extended giant paw to slap it around a little. Truly remarkable for me and probably nobody else. I left an empty shipping box on a chair in the library, it went on for 30 minutes and the box ended up in the Kitchen. What a mess, but entertaining.

    Thank you; your beautimus

    Gavin

  6. I’m afraid to look at “So What? Now What?” just looks like more doom and gloom. The cover man has empty eyes and a frown scarred face with etched permanent fault lines above his eyes. Maybe he looked Medusa in the eye, or has known insurmountable pain. In either case, I don’t have the energy. Maybe sometime, you can alleviate my apprehension?


What do you think?